Home / News / 3Arts awards $50,000 in unrestricted grants to local teaching artists with Next Level awards

3Arts awards $50,000 in unrestricted grants to local teaching artists with Next Level awards


Chicago-based nonprofit philanthropic organization 3Arts has been supporting local artists for years with unrestricted funding awards. This year he raised the bar.

The organization’s Next Level Awards consist of $50,000 in grants awarded to past 3Arts award winners, and this year the award has been expanded to include two additional awards for teaching artists. The recipients were announced at a ceremony at the Harris Theater on Monday night. The 2023 Next Level awards were given to teaching artists Miguel “Kane One” Aguilar and Regin Igloria, as well as visual artists Dianna Frid, Edra Soto, and Dorian Sylvain.

The $50,000 grant was the largest award for training artists in the world, according to 3Arts.

“We wanted these Next Level awards to be important enough to ensure that if an artist has a big dream or a big project they want to realize, they have some resources to make it happen,” said Esther Grimm, managing director of 3Arts. “We think about what happens if we invest more in artists when they are ready, when their careers are developing, when they have big dreams and projects they want to realize (like taking the next step). basically level.

The five Next Level $50,000 award winners are among 10 3Arts award winners who receive $30,000 unrestricted grants each year. The 2023 honorees include dance artists Donnetta “LilBit” Jackson and Rika Lin; musicians Rashada Dawan and Avreeayl Ra; teaches artists Jacinda Bullie and Eric Hotchkiss; theater artists Nancy García Loza and Charlotte “Chuck” Gruman; and visual artists Selva Aparicio and Jenny Kendler. And 10 more artists took home $2,000 as part of their “Make a Wave” grant, an artist-to-artist grant from which former 3Arts Prize winners select the winners.



About yönetici

Check Also

Meet the 2023-24 Aurora-Elgin men’s basketball all-District team

[ad_1] Players from Waubonsie Valley, West Aurora, Oswego East and Class 1A state finalist Aurora …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Watch Dragon ball super