Home / News / Kansas City Chiefs win Super Bowl LVIII 25-22

Kansas City Chiefs win Super Bowl LVIII 25-22


LAS VEGAS — Patrick Mahomes, Travis Kelce and the Kansas City Chiefs have won back-to-back Super Bowl champions.

Mahomes threw a 3-yard touchdown pass to Mecole Hardman with 3 seconds left in overtime, and the Chiefs rallied to beat the San Francisco 49ers 25-22 on Sunday to become the first Super Bowl repeat champion in 19 years and the ninth overall.

With pop star Taylor Swift watching boyfriend Kelce in the suite, the Chiefs captured their third title in five years and firmly established themselves as a dynasty.

The NFL’s first Super Bowl in Las Vegas was a sloppy, error-filled affair and the back-and-forth was mostly boring until the fourth quarter and overtime. This was the second of 58 Super Bowls tied in regulation, and the first game played under the new overtime rules in which both teams received the ball.

The Chiefs trailed 22-19 after Jake Moody kicked a 27-yard field goal on the first possession of overtime, but Mahomes rallied the Chiefs with another impressive comeback in a rematch of the Super Bowl four years ago.

Mahomes ran for 8 yards on fourth-and-1 to keep the Chiefs’ chances alive and then ran for 19 yards to set up the winning score.

After connecting with a wide-open Hardman, the Chiefs raced down the field as red-yellow confetti fell onto the grass.

The biggest excitement of the first half came when a frustrated Kelce slammed into Andy Reid on the sideline, knocking the Chiefs’ 65-year-old coach back several feet after teammate Isiah Pacheco entered the red zone in the second quarter.

The action picked up after a key mistake by San Francisco’s special teams that allowed Mahomes to throw a 16-yard TD pass to Marquez Valdes-Scantling for a 13-10 lead.

Brock Purdy and the 49ers responded, but they couldn’t make enough plays, denying Mr. Irrelevant the opportunity to become a Super Bowl champion with the final pick in the 2022 NFL draft.

Mahomes and Reid are halfway there with Tom Brady and Bill Belichick, whose team, along with the New England Patriots, won six championships in 20 years and became the last team to go back-to-back after the 2003-04 season.

Mahomes, 28, became the fourth QB and second-youngest player to win three Super Bowls, joining Brady, Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Troy Aikman.

Niners wide receiver Jauan Jennings threw a TD pass and caught one, joining Eagles quarterback Nick Foles as the only players to do both in the Super Bowl six years ago.

After Moody’s 53-yard field goal gave the 49ers a 19-16 lead with 1:53 remaining, Mahomes and Kelce went to work. Mahomes connected with Kelce for a 22-yard gain to set up Butker’s tying kick from 29 yards with 3 seconds left.

A holding call on Kansas City’s Trent McDuffie extended San Francisco’s first overtime drive, and Purdy made key throws to move the 49ers to the Chiefs 9. But San Francisco decided to take a field goal.


About yönetici

Check Also

Meet the 2023-24 Aurora-Elgin men’s basketball all-District team

[ad_1] Players from Waubonsie Valley, West Aurora, Oswego East and Class 1A state finalist Aurora …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Watch Dragon ball super